More Me, Please

I finally added a text widget to my blog with a link to my About Me page. Thanks, Blogging 101, Day Eight assignment! I kind of like it. I’m looking for feedback, so go! While you’re at it, let me know what you think about today’s post.

Today’s assignment: write a post inspired by your About page or widget.

I’m going to expand upon my new text widget…


Yep, I’m a Buckeye girl at heart. I love my Buckeyes. For those of you not familiar with buckeyes, they are poisonous nuts. So don’t mess with us, okay?! HA! Just kidding! But seriously, our college football team can beat your college football team. So there.

Have you ever been to an Ohio State football game? No? Put it on your bucket list. Now. Especially since ticket prices aren’t bound to get any cheaper than they are right now. It’s not cheap, no, but it’s a superb experience that you’re bound to never forget. The best home games are the night games. Experience that. You’ll thank me.

Do I like living in Ohio? No. Sometimes. Only when it’s not raining or snowing or below 70. That’s pretty much eight or nine months out of the year. I’m so screwed living here. The thing that Ohio has going for it (besides our beloved Buckeyes) is that you can experience all four seasons by living here. That’s kind of cool, if you ask me. I’ve heard people talk about how they miss seeing the leaves change or how they miss snow (not sure why anyone would miss snow except on Christmas Day) or how they miss seeing tulips pop up in early spring. It’s all pretty amazing. We’ve had a horrible winter this year. Mother Nature was not kind to us. She knows I absolutely despise cold weather so she made me suffer brutally through it this year. I’m trying to get over it though. It’ll be summer soon, and the pool will be open. I had better get good use out of my pool pass this year. Girl, don’t make me regret buying a pass this year for my family, or I’ll have to… I’ll…

I’ll eagerly wait for next year. That’s what I’ll do…

So, yeah, I believe in soul mates. I had better believe in them since I have one. Just one. Maybe there’s more than one person out in the world that is meant to be for you and me and everyone else. I’d like to believe there’s only one real soul mate for each person. I can’t imagine giving this kind of love so fully to another human being. It’s different when you have children. You totally love them with your whole heart. But it’s a different kind of love than the love you have for your soul mate. Have you met yours yet? Not to worry because you’ll find each other. Is it fate? Is it destiny? I don’t know. It’s whatever you believe.

I only have one child (for now). I got married thinking I’d like to have three kids. Then we had our little girl. Um, one is enough. But she’s nine now and she wants a sibling. And I kind of want to have another. I keep thinking that we’ll have a boy. I can’t magically birth a boy or make my hubby’s little swimmer leave his Y chromosome; it’s just a feeling. I could be wrong. Hell, for the longest time I thought I was going to have a boy when I was pregnant with our daughter because I had a dream that I gave birth to a boy. The ultrasound at 20 weeks proved me wrong! Oh well. I’m still happy with her. Besides, we have a boy. Dog.

We used to have a girl dog. But I settled for a chocolate lab as long as we could get a boy. I wanted a St. Bernard. Big dog! Love them! But our daughter was only three or four at the time and my husband was afraid that a Wooly Mammoth of a dog would be a bit too large for her. So we found a freaking adorable little chocolate lab out on a farm in BFE somewhere around Columbus. He’s not so little anymore. He’s got a big head. Don’t ever bump into his head. It hurts. It’ll leave a bruise. I can prove it. What’s his name? One guess… (Charlie the chocolate lab.)

I am so ready to get rid of our fish. My daughter JUST HAD TO HAVE THEM. She now wants nothing to do with them. My husband has to have THE BEST of EVERYTHING. We have a huge tank (don’t ask me how many gallons because I have no clue) with an even larger filter (again, don’t ask). The smaller filters made noise. This gargantuan filter? What filter? Oh, there’s a filter on that tank? You can’t even hear it! Anyway, I think we have maybe one or two fish left. Hopefully they’re both the same sex so they can stop procreating. We also have a mutant goldfish from the Ohio State Fair. Our daughter won that fish over two years ago. That’s what I mean by mutant.

Lastly, let me tell you about coffee and books. I love them. I love to read. I love my coffee. I must have both every day. My favorite book is Don Quixote. I read it because I was going through some Barnes & Noble list of the 100 greatest novels. I wanted to start from the oldest and make my way to the 20th century. Big Don was first on the list. I had to carry around a dictionary to look up words, but it was probably one of the greatest reading experiences of my life! If that book doesn’t make you want to keep reading then you’re obviously not me!

I’ll leave you all with this — I enjoy mornings with a hot cup of coffee on the deck with a quiet house (where the family is still sleeping) on the weekend in early summer. That’s my amore.

4 thoughts on “More Me, Please

  1. I love coffee and books so much that I wish I didn’t need to work to be reading and blogging with cups and cups of coffee all day long… I am married too, but we don’t have kids yet, only a girl dog three months-old. I love your blog and the new layout (just like mine 😉 lol)!

  2. Hi Susan, I am nominating you for the Liebster Award.

The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog.The rules of the competition are:

    The nominate must provide a link to the person who nominated them.
This is my link: http://teandpaper.com/2014/04/27/liebster-award-nomination/
    Provide 11 facts about yourself.

    Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
    
Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

