It’s been a few days since I’ve posted to my blog, so I’m up and at ’em now this morning. I normally try to use the Daily Post as a jumping off point for my posts. Today, I’m going to follow the advice of the Day Nineteen assignment and just write.

Today’s assignment: build your storyteller’s toolbox by publishing a post in another format or a style you’ve never used before.

I’m wide awake now. Yes, the coffee helped. Oh, and the Scott’s lawn guy who quietly knocked at the door 15 minutes ago to disturb my poor dog’s peaceful slumber also helped. I’m usually nice to solicitors and let them rattle off their spiel before politely giving them the standard “No, thanks.” I wasn’t in that gracious of a mood this morning though. I wanted to enjoy a quiet morning all by myself listening to the dog snoring before officially starting my day. I carried my Nook downstairs with me, let the dog out, fed the dog (no watering needed since his water bowl was already full), made my coffee, opened up the laptop, checked email, and waited for the delicious aroma of the Dunkin’ Donuts coffee to caress my nostrils. The slightly chilly morning breeze blowing in from one of the kitchen windows felt good on my legs. The chorus of bird calls and chatter made the morning all the more serene. The coffee was hitting the spot. It was just the right temperature — not too hot and definitely not cold. The vanilla sweet cream creamer was just the right amount of sugar and cream. Perfection.

knock knock

Did I just hear someone knock at the front door?

BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK BARK (repeat repeat repeat)

Yeah… Someone just knocked.

It’s a rainy, dreary Saturday morning. Who the heck is out there?! The dog’s barking tells me our visitor isn’t a friendly face. Great. Do I answer the door?? My hair’s a hot mess. I have glorious coffee breath. I’m still in my t-shirt and jammies. Oh well. Maybe the whole package will scare our visitor off. I open the door and there’s Mr. Scott’s lawn guy. I’m not in the mood. I haven’t finished my coffee yet. I have no desire to listen to this guy sell me his superior lawn services in between incessant barking.

Sorry, my dog doesn’t like you. Buh bye.

That’s what I should have said to him. Instead, I let him off the hook gently and quickly.

Um, we already have a lawn service. We’re not interested right now. Thanks.

I didn’t give the guy much chance to sway my decision. Before I closed the door on the dog’s snout, the guy’s face drooped. I could tell he was used to being blown off. Sorry, dude. Not today. I closed the door and happily went back to my coffee and laptop. It was only a few minutes later when I heard my little girl jumping off her bed. If my ears could droop, they would have done so right then.

Mommy?

Great. I thought I had another hour or so before I’d have to talk to anyone.

Mommy?

Don’t be rude. Answer your daughter. “Yeah?

And so it begins…

2 thoughts on “It was quiet…

  1. I definitely understand you. I used to have a lot of quiet time, but married and with a baby dog I kind of have to try to read or write while the fuzz goes on or else I’ll have to get up right after every one goes to bed to have a peaceful moment for myself.

Leave a Reply

