Three Songs

Ave Maria: I absolutely love this song. Not sure I how feel about the version that Beyonce did though. I could listen to the instrumental version every day. I don’t necessarily need the words. This was my grandma’s favorite song. That’s one of the things I remember about her. She was the only grandparent I knew (or ever met) when I was growing up. She passed away a few months before I graduated from college. When I was picking out songs for my wedding, I immediately chose this song as one to be played before the ceremony began. I always have to stop and listen to this song when I hear it. It gives me goosebumps when I hear it playing in a church. I think every wedding should have this song playing at some point. I hope my daughter wants to have this song at her wedding. Maybe it could be like a tradition that she and I pass along to our daughters and their daughters. I’ll have to try to remember that!! After all, I doubt this song will ever go out of style.

All of Me: This is a recent song by John Legend. I wasn’t really a fan of his until I heard this song. This is the perfect love song. I would totally give my life up for my husband. I think it perfectly describes how a soul mate is part of your life. That’s what I think of my husband – he’s definitely my soul mate. I wouldn’t trade him for anything. Well, I might for a few minutes. Just kidding, honey! I ended up looking up the words to this song because I was so in love with it. Then I listened to it a few dozen times so I could try to memorize the words. (Okay, it wasn’t a few dozen times. Maybe three or four…) I also want to say that I’m not really a fan of the version of this song they play on satellite radio. I usually listen to Hits One on Sirius/XM. The version they play is kind of funky. This is a slow love song. At least that’s my opinion.

Happy: I. Absolutely. Love. This. Song. This is fantastic! Seriously, if you’re in a bad mood you have to listen to this song to get out of the funk. It’s just one of those tunes that makes you want to get up and dance or move. Whenever I hear it I have to move my body somehow. My daughter likes to make fun of me, but I know she loves it, too. You can’t help but be happy when you hear this song. I wonder what this song would do to people who are in prison. (I know, a weird thought.) But would it make people calm? Would it make them happy? I’d like to think so. I’ve heard that painting jail cells pink calms prisoners. Perhaps they should paint the walls pink and play this song several times a day. Oh, and if you haven’t seen it yet, you should google this song. There’s a website dedicated to 24 hours of Happy. It’s a compilation of several videos with people dancing and singing to this song. It’s like one of those deer-in-the-headlight moments – you start watching and you realize you can’t stop. Don’t watch it while you’re at work or if you’re doing homework. Just thinking of this song makes me happy.


Song inspirations courtesy of today’s Writing 101 prompt.

 

One thought on “Three Songs

Leave a Reply

