Happy to see you!

I get that sometimes. Most of the time it’s sarcastic shock when my co-workers see me in the office. So, what’s the deal? I tend to work from home a lot. It’s completely out of necessity. For example, there are those days when my alarm goes off at 6:00 a.m. but I don’t actually get out of bed to get ready for work until 7:59 a.m. so now I have to work from home because it was my intention to be at work around 7:00 a.m. Yes, it happens. Another example: my husband is traveling for work and someone has to be here for our daughter. Or, maybe I just don’t have any meetings.

I like working from home. I tend to get a lot done. I’m on the computer constantly. I’m usually not behind on email. I can even listen to music without my headphones. I get my email on my iPhone. That means I can still be connected when I have to take a potty break.

What has this world come to?!

I seem to have lost myself. I’ve lost my voice. I’ve lost my sense of self. Too dramatic? Well, maybe. But I’m trying to make a better effort to get into the office more. It’s so easy to roll out of bed in the morning and just start working. The shower, the hair, the heels, the jammies — they can all wait until later.

I need to find myself again. I guess I could say that I started working from home more often so that I could find myself. I felt lost at work. I felt like I wasn’t making a difference. I seem to have switched direction. I miss people. Sorry, Charlie. (That’s my dog. I think he likes it when he can be my furry foot warmer all day.)

I miss my co-workers. My girlfriends. Our lunches. The chats. I need to get that back. I know where to find it all. It’s just a matter of getting up.

Leave a Reply

