The Gift

2004
“Happy birthday, dad!” I say, as I walk into my parents’ house.

“Hey, mom,” greetings are exchanged with kisses as I make my way to their dining room table. The hubby is in tow. “Oh, here you go,” I smile and hand my mom a gift bag of her own. “I saw this and thought of you.” She’s not sure what to think…


2014
I can’t believe ten years has gone by so fast. So many things have happened. We’ve had a child; we’ve gone through a crappy financial position; we’ve lost jobs; we’ve gained employment; we’ve vacationed; we’ve bought cars; we’ve been in the hospital. We’ve weathered a lot.

But the good has outweighed the bad. Life always gets better. The best part? Our daughter.

She’s pretty much the glue that holds this family together. It’s hard to imagine life without her. I have to admit that she can be a total brat at times, but again, the good outweighs the bad.

There’s been some animosity between my mom and my husband for a long time. I like to think that the announcement of our impending arrival proved to be a turning point in all of our lives.

We waited the obligatory three months (gotta get past the first trimester) before telling any family members. We visited my parents first when it was finally time. I wanted to do something special, so I bought the grandparents each a bib that proclaimed their upcoming title change. It was also my dad’s birthday, so it was the perfect opportunity to surprise both of my parents.

My husband is pretty laid back, so he was okay with telling my parents first. (At least I hope that was the case… I’ve always had a sneaky suspicion that he told his mom in confidence before we made the big announcement.) Our families all live in the same town. Thank goodness! It was simpler to break the news all on the same weekend!

My dad was the first to open his gift bag. He knew right away what it meant. My mom, on the other hand, needed a little extra coaching to figure things out. My dad was like, “Well, I’ll be damned.” My mom was like, “What?” She kinda looked at me like I was crazy.

“Honey. Look at the writing,” pointed out my dad to my mom. Then she finally read what was on the bib.

Silence, and then…

“Are you pregnant?” asked my mom, wide-eyed, as she came at me with her hand poised to feel my belly.

“Ye-es,” I said, full of smiles.

No more confusion.

Leave a Reply

