The Island of Misplaced Phones

We get emails at work every so often asking if anyone has lost a set of keys or an earring or a coffee mug. I guess that’s par for the course no matter where you work. Someone is bound to lose or forget or drop something, right? It’s happened to the best of us. Who hasn’t misplaced keys? Who has remembered to put in the second earring to the matching pair when you’re already at your destination? You freak out for a few minutes thinking you just lost your favorite gold hoop, and then you realize it’s actually sitting on your bathroom counter — next to the wedding ring you also forgot.

And what about cell phones? What would our society do without them?! The days without cell phones seem so far away. I don’t remember what it used to feel like to not have instant communication.

  • I never worried about calling my mom to let her know I was on my way home from working second shift. She just knew when I’d be there.
  • I didn’t think twice to message my boyfriend to let him know I’d be stopping over during my lunch break or a cancelled class. It was a happy surprise.
  • I waited patiently for my friend who was meeting me at the student union so that we could grab dinner and then go tanning. I only looked at the clock to make sure I wasn’t late.

Sometimes I wish that I didn’t have to be so reliant on my cell phone. There have been a few times when I’ve gone to the office without my cell phone. I gotta admit — it’s liberating! It feels wonderful! On those days I don’t have to worry about taking my cell out of my bag and placing it on my desk with the ringer set to vibrate. I don’t have the need to immediately respond to any text messages. It feels good. I know I could leave my cell in my bag and not look at the call log or read any missed messages. But how many of us really do that? How many of us can do that for more than an hour?

We’d all be better off to “lose” our cell phones at least once. I know I don’t feel bad if I leave mine on the kitchen counter while running off to the grocery. (Fewer items to buy? Less money to spend? Okay!)

So the next time you misplace or lose your cell, remember this:

Tis better to have lost and found your cell phone than never to have had one at all.

😉

Leave a Reply

