You say cardamon. I say cardamom.

I imagine most people have never heard of or used cardamom. It doesn’t surprise me. I had no clue about this exotic spice until I started baking on my own. If you’ve never smelled it, it really is wonderful. It’s sweet and spicy at the same time. It also reminds me of my grandma. I only ever met one of my grandparents when I was growing up. My mom’s parents lived in Taiwan. My dad’s dad passed before I was born. So Grandma E. was our matriarch. She loved to bake. She made the very best bread in the world. Everyone loved it when she made her sweet bread. The whole house smelled like cardamom. Of course, at the time, I had no idea that’s what made the house smell so good. I had no idea it made the bread taste even better. After my grandma passed, my aunt was kind enough to share this delightful ingredient with me. Cardamom. There are some moments in life you just don’t forget. For me, one of my unforgettable moments is when I first bought cardamom. Another is when I first baked my grandma’s sweet bread. I know how to make my house smell like the good ole days.

This is the one ingredient I’ll never be without in my kitchen.

1. Soy Sauce | thepinterestedparent.wordpress.com
2. Cayenne | sabethville.wordpress.com
3. Balsamic Vinegar | hopethehappyhugger.wordpress.com
4. Pasta | bubblewrappedkitty.wordpress.com
5. Green Chilies | tnkerr.wordpress.com
6. Onion | manjunathkulkarni.wordpress.com
7. Butter | activearmywife.wordpress.com
8. Cinnamon | uncustomaryhousewife.wordpress.com

Leave a comment